I Crave Non-Candy Fillers for our Easter Eggs

19

April 7, 2012 by CassieCravings

mamacravings

Whether your family is no-candy, sometimes-candy or just wants a break from the candy, here are some great Easter egg fillers that go beyond the traditional jellybean and whoppers.

5 Alternatives to Candy in Easter Eggs

1. Non-Candy treats

Raisins, Cheerios or any of your kids’ favorite and most portable treat will go nicely. Last year, Baby Eli’s eggs were stuffed with his favorite Puff (Happy Baby Organic Puffs).

non-candy edible treats

 

2. Discount Store or Party Store Toys

First note whether or not these toys are safe for the age of your child. It is dangerously easy to stuff your Easter eggs with choking hazards.

Discount stores and party stores offer a plethora of small toy items to fill Easter eggs. Balls, small figurines and jewelry are all fun options.

Discount Store/Party Store toys

3. Play-Doh

For this idea, I was inspired by nonmom‘s review of Hasbro’s Play-Doh filled eggs.

Simply, fill your eggs with Play-Doh for a fun and playful treat in your child’s Easter eggs. This was Eli’s personal favorite out of all the fillers. He much preferred the Play-Doh over the actual egg.

Play-Doh

4. Stickers

Stickers are a win no matter the age. Tailor the stickers to your child’s interests. This year our stickers will feature sports, Elmo and potty training.

Stickers

5. Words of Affirmation

An Easter egg hunt offers a great opportunity to encourage your kids. Little notes tucked into an Easter egg is a special and memorable way to share with your kids how much you love them.

Older kids can join in on this activity by writing why the family is special to them.

Words of Affirmation

 

What is your favorite Easter egg treat?

Baby Eli is looking forward to an Easter egg hunt.

Have a wonderful Easter!

 

19 thoughts on “I Crave Non-Candy Fillers for our Easter Eggs

  1. Carolyn says:

    Those are great ideas! Another thing that I did at family Easter egg hunts and our Piney Woods Mothers of Multiples Easter egg hunts was to have a scavenger hunt found inside of the Easter eggs that told the Resurrection story as you open them. I used dirt to represent sin, a cross made of twigs to tell of the love of Jesus, a rock to show that the grave could not hold Him and a flower to show new life given to those who trust Jesus and ask Him to be their boss. It was a great way to share the story of Easter while having some childhood fun.

  2. That’s the way to do it! I think candy is over rated sometimes. What we are doing for our little one is something similar. However, she LOOOOVES to save money. Every time she finds a coin, she takes it to her piggy bank! So we are just going to take some coins out of her piggy bank (she won’t notice) and put one coin in each of the eggs. =)

  3. Sarah says:

    LOVE the idea of non-candy egg fillers, too! For Ethan’s playgroup & Mother’s Day Out egg hunts, I did add a few Hershey kisses, but I did little animal stickers, too. A few of the eggs that Ethan brought home contained things like animal cookies, baby goldfish crackers, and some of those little rubbery lizards that you can find at the dollar store.

    I think for our egg hunt tomorrow with friends, I am going to do more stickers and some quarters for the kids to add to their piggy banks! I must say that *I* DO love my candy, but adding a variety of things from stickers to little toys, etc is so much fun for the kiddos! πŸ™‚

    • mamacravings says:

      I love my candy too πŸ™‚ And I must say it doesn’t hurt my feelings when Eli comes home with candy in his eggs…because then I get to eat it!

      I think “variety” is the key word. I love all of the examples and suggestions from ya’ll’s Easter egg hunts!

      • Sarah says:

        I love it when Ethan comes home with candy in his eggs, too hehe. πŸ™‚ Just what the pregnant mama ordered! πŸ˜‰

  4. golfparents says:

    Great idea… we do the same here. I also have larger items, books, stuffed animals, etc and hide a slip of paper with a number on it that matches the larger gift. As we have 6 grandchildren, we limit their picks to one of each so they all get even distribution. Yeah… candy is getting to be a bit too much these days. thanks for your post!
    Happy Easter1

  5. mrsbry126 says:

    Yay for healthy treats and creative ideas! Where’s the basket from? πŸ™‚

  6. One year my folks bought a pinata that looked vaguely like a sheep and we filled it with toys, jumpropes and things from the dollar store. The kids loved it. After feeling bad for the poor sheep, I remembered that that’s what Easter is all about!

    Great ideas! I especially like the words of affirmation idea. I just might do that next year, if I remember…

    • mamacravings says:

      I love the pinata idea! How fun!!

      I understand the remembering for next year thing…I’ve been trying to store away great ideas for next year. I hope my brain can keep those ideas for that long. lol

  7. Hey there Momma!! I have nominated you for a blogging award….you can view the details here at my post about it!! http://lovingmymommylife.wordpress.com/2012/04/10/woohoo-award-time/

  8. what a great idea! i love the small toys and words of affirmation. i am definitely doing this next year for my kids.

  9. These are fab ideas! We did Easter crafts and no chocolate for the boys. They had enough sweets etc from family and friends πŸ™‚

    • mamacravings says:

      The sweets can become overwhelming. It’s fun to have other ideas to go along with them.

      Crafts sound like a blast! What a great way to make memories and treasures! πŸ™‚

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7,147 other subscribers

Mamacravings Categories

Mamacravings Archives