I Crave Cute Pictures of my Toddler

24

March 28, 2012 by mamacravings

Image

Cute pictures of my toddler, that sounds simple enough. My kid is cute, thus I should have cute pics of him. Yet at least 7 out of 10 times my pictures are a blank frame or a blur of flailing limbs.ย Through my mama-tography quest, I have found that the unusable photos are just as part of the adventure, of both motherhood and photography.

I am in no means a photographer…as you could probably tell by my less than stellar success rate. For me, it’s not about being a professional or having the latest camera (though I wouldn’t turn it down. **Psst! Mother’s Day is coming up. Somebody alert the husband!). My personal mission in picking up the camera is to catch moments that are slipping away too quickly and to capture my ridiculously adorable child.

Through experience and countless hours tagging along after my photography student brother, I have unearthed 3 tips in getting picture-perfect shots of my toddler:

1. Setting

You do not need a fancy studio to get a great photo of your child. Gravitate towards settings with natural light (the window, the back yard or the park). Check the details. Don’t allow clutter in your pictures. Move things around. Move you around. As you drive around town, take note of places that would be a fun and interesting back drop.

Image

2. Personality

There are shots of my son that I am undeniably sure I will not get. First on that list is anything that requires him to sit still. Still is not part of my beautiful son’s personality. When he’s old enough to ground and to threaten within an inch of his life, I will come up with a new game plan. But until then, I let Eli take the lead. We do shoots with him painting, playing football and playing with the water hose. I get to capture his fun, creative, quirky, silly side. And I do it with little to no stress about “making” him pose. There is no posing. Eli is simply being Eli, which captures the moment in a beautiful way that posing or sitting still never could.

ImageImage

3. Patience

Ahhhh….Patience. I almost didn’t incorporate patience into this. Not because it’s not imperative, but because I lack it. And I lack it hard. I want the first shot to be perfect. That has yet to happen. Come to find out my lack of patience is a huge buzz kill. Buzz kills do not make good photographers or photographyย assistants. Trying to force a shot or an experience only ruins it. Pre–plan enough time to allow for that winning shot. If you don’t get it. It is okay. The sun will rise tomorrow. Try again then.

ImageImage

When all else fails, ask your brother to study photography and do it for you. ๐Ÿ™‚

Image

Image

24 thoughts on “I Crave Cute Pictures of my Toddler

  1. Sarah says:

    LOVE these pictures! And love the tips! Thank you for them! ๐Ÿ™‚ I love taking pictures of my son & I’m definitely NOT a professional photographer by any means lol. I love to capture those moments of him just being his silly self & having fun! Ethan is 2 1/2 & always on the go…which means no posing for him either lol. Many of my shots are a blurry blob of him running past me lol. But, I just have to learn to be patient, like you said! ๐Ÿ™‚ Our kiddos grow up way too fast & I don’t want to miss a thing in their beautiful lives!

    • mamacravings says:

      They do grow up so quickly! Even in the 2 years Eli has been mine, I forget how quickly he has grown. I look back at pictures from just a few months ago and ooh and awww over his chubby cheeks and bald head. Pictures makes it possible to savor all of the details our tired mama brains can’t keep up with. Lol

  2. mrsbry126 says:

    I love taking pictures of my son! Sometimes, I put the camera into burst mode so that it continuously shoots to get one great shot! I think now it’s easier because my baby smiles often ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Papa says:

    Nice work.

  4. amylynndorf says:

    sports/action mode works well too. It is about the only way I was able to get pics of my nephew for the longest time.

  5. amylynndorf says:

    I find that using Sport/Action mode works well too. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • mamacravings says:

      Absolutely! Some of my favorite shots of Baby Eli are ones where he is active and playing. For example, his birthday invitation is a picture of him running down the hill throwing a football. The look of glee on his face is priceless! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Maya Fitz says:

    Great pictures! You have a little model on your hand too ๐Ÿ™‚

    • mamacravings says:

      While reading your blog, I was slightly envious of your kiddo as he sat and posed for the pictures. Lol.

      Thank you so much! He certainly has tons of personality! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. shmooples says:

    He’s a cutie. Love the curls!

  8. Sarah says:

    I wonder if my camera has a sports/action mode! It’s not a super fancy camera or anything. It seems like that would be the best way to capture pictures of my little man lol.

    • mamacravings says:

      Try it out, Sarah! I play with my settings all the time. You will find what works best in which type of light. You don’t have to have a fancy camera to be a great mom-togropher. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Oster's Mom says:

    These pictures are fantastic! Thanks for the shooting tips.

  10. Great post – my daughter probably thinks the camera is her sister or something. She loves anything black that has cables and that mama loves to play with. So it’s getting harder to take good shots as she always ends up wanting the camera and pulling ! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • mamacravings says:

      They do tend to get more and more wiggly. Baby Eli now understands that there will be a picture of him on the display. He wants to jump around and look at the display before I get a chance to snap the picture…It makes things a bit more complicated. haha ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Great tips… I have the same problems photographing my own adorable 2 year old Eli! He is constantly on the move, and if he sees the camera he is instantly on the move to snatch it from me. He is slowly getting better about that though. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • mamacravings says:

      Oh my! He wants to be his own little shutter bug ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thank you! He is my sweet little guy ๐Ÿ™‚

      Eli’s favorite thing is to look at pictures. He wants to look at the picture BEFORE I take it…It’s a process. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  12. lakewoodmama says:

    Great pics! Do you have a point and shoot or DSLR?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7,179 other followers

Mamacravings Categories

Mamacravings Archives

