“I do it.” : A Story of Persistence

23

April 29, 2012 by mamacravings

mamacravings

I crave a heart of persistence for Eli.

We should have left 10 minutes ago. I leaned in to help.

“I do it.”

“Would you like a little help?”

“Li-Li’s turn.”

“Keep me posted.”

His tongue was firmly set in concentration. His dimpled fingers trembled with determination. Eli had decided that he wanted to latch his chest harness in his car seat. I checked the time again. …We should have left 12 minutes ago.

I battled myself, I went from “We’re late. He will have to pick another time to assert his independence.” to “We’re late. What will a few more minutes going to hurt.”

Eli sighed.

“Little man, Do you want to work together on this one?”

“I do it, Mama.” He never looked up. His little hands never stopped jabbing the pieces of the harness together.

I wondered when the last time was that I pursued something so strongly, even through frustration and a person standing over me counting the minutes. I wasΒ mesmerized by his will to just keep plugging along, even though little to no progress had been made.

I crave for Eli to have such a heart of persistence for the rest of his days.

As he learns to ride his bike, as he scrape his knees, let him get back up. Let kisses and charactered Band-Aids be all that slows him down. Allow him the will to push through the fear, uncertainty and the sting of falling.

As he pursues his studies, as he struggles through challenging classes, let him pursue the puzzling concepts until they are mastered. Allow him to push through frustration, sleep deprivation and the notion to blow it off.

As he pursues God, as he goes through situations that don’t make sense and that break his heart, let him pursue Faith with his whole heart. Allow him to cling to God during tough times, praise Him during all times and to thank Him daily.

I glanced down at my persistence warrior and was in awe of him. Sure it’s just a seat belt, but his will was inspiring. I beamed. I quit looking at the clock.

Click!

“I did it! Mama, looks at it! I made da puzzles!” He grinned with the satisfaction of sticking through it. Those dimpled hands fist pumped, and his whole body danced.

We high-fived and celebrated.

“Tanks you, Mama.”

I wasn’t sure if that thank you was for the high-five or for letting him work through it. But I gladly received it.

I crave persistence for my son. I crave a will that will never give up. I crave a heart that will fight for what is right, for what is true and for what is worth it.

We were late. But the victory was bigger. I quit looking at the clock. The beam of satisfaction from the back seat was too bright not to enjoy.

23 thoughts on ““I do it.” : A Story of Persistence

  1. I love the determination and concentration. You have to just smile when they get into those modes.

  2. Amanda says:

    What a great story! I love how you were wiling to be late to give your little guy the chance to succeed and feel proud of himself. πŸ™‚

  3. Carolyn says:

    There is nothing a mother craves more than to see her children have a passion to pursue the Lord. I am sure that is followed by wanting them to have a passion to share time with family and a passion to learn. Casi, I am so thankful that you have all of those passions and that you and Juan are training Eli to have those passions as well.

  4. boomiebol says:

    I crave the same for my girls :). This is a beautiful story, thanks for sharing :). My girls are at the “I do/did it” stage too :).

  5. Paige says:

    My Monday was starting off horribly! I couldn’t find my cell phone – I was out in my car looking for 10 minutes, I finally had a guy I work with call it – we hear it – finally I find it… in my make up bag?? And then… I read your story and my heart sings. Thanks for sharing so much Casi. You and your family are inspirations!

  6. What a great reminder! Thanks so much for sharing! You brought a tear to my eye as I remembered those moments of joy from my first when he “did it his-self!” πŸ™‚ And reminded me to be patient with my second as he goes through those moments now!

  7. Amanda says:

    I also have a “Mommy I do it.” at my house. I love that you instead of being frustrated or rushed you admired his persistence. I need to take a step back and try to look at it from that point of view.
    Thanks for sharing!
    Laundry Care

  8. Megan says:

    This made me cry. You told this so beautifully and turned such a small moment into something so big. Amazing.

  9. Before Isaac it was so important for me to be on time, since having him I don’t think that I have EVER been anywhere on time since but I wouldn’t give this up for the world! This was such a beautiful and touching story!

    • mamacravings says:

      I am the same way! I get up earlier and sometimes that’s not even enough time. I try to be flexible, so I can enjoy those moments.

      Thank you so much! πŸ™‚

  10. Sophia says:

    Beautiful story!! I have a three year old daughter who is completely preoccupied with her independence and this story touched me so much….congrats little man!! and congrats Mommy for your admirable patience =)

  11. peachyteachy says:

    Great!!! Seems we are so good at hurrying, but it takes such restraint to just stop and let stuff happen. Thanks for following my blog!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7,179 other followers

Mamacravings Categories

Mamacravings Archives

