The Daddy Behind the Cravings

20

May 5, 2012 by mamacravings

mamacravings

He wants to be just like Daddy.

I knew he would be a good father. His kind heart, never-ending patience and love of impromptu song and dance sessions were my first clues.

I knew he would be a good father when, even as we were about to leave on a date, he took the time to play with his little brother. Dinner and a movie could wait. He knew how quickly little Jonathan would grow.

I knew he would be a good father when he said he dreamed of being a coach. We were newly married. He had planned on being a physical therapist, but he couldn’t shake the idea of wanting to help kids.

I knew he would be a good father when our baby boy was born. I was still in the surreal haze of the moment. He smiled at me and whispered, “He’s here! You did it!” He was already overflowing with love for that tiny baby.

The Daddy Behind The Cravings

I knew it. I fell in love with him for these same qualities. While I had an idea, while I felt I knew what kind of father he would be, he continually surprises me with how he stretches himself to be an even better dad.

He never misses an opportunity to tell Eli that he loves him and why he loves him. He is quick to instruct but slow to anger. He never tires of playing catch or of singing nursery school songs (even though he only knows about half of the words).

helping Coach out on the football field

My husband makes me a better mother. He inspires me. He supports me. He holds me accountable.

Where I am weakest, he gives our family balance and strength. I rarely am patient. His patience seems to never end. When I feel frustrated, he will laugh, “Watch it, Mama. Eli will be off to kindergarten tomorrow.” The statement is normally countered with a death stare, but it centers me. It reminds me of what’s important and why. It reminds me that I’m am not in this parenting thing alone.

I knew he would be a good father. I know he will always be. I am one blessed mama. We are one blessed family. My husband is exactly the partner in life I had always craved.

my superhero with our superbaby

20 thoughts on “The Daddy Behind the Cravings

  1. It is so refreshing hearing another Mom think their husbands are wonderful Dads,

    • mamacravings says:

      Thank you. I think our culture gets caught up in how inept dads are. Could I list ways he isn’t perfect, but God knows he can do the same for me. I would rather lift him up, then tear him down.

      • I totally agree! I think when you complain about your spouse, you burden your kids with it. Actually, last week I went to a new drop in, and the first comment that came out of one mom, was how much she hated her husband. Her kids were in the room, and one was 3.

      • mamacravings says:

        So very true and so very sad. I don’t think people realize the impact their words have on the kids and on their marriage. What is that 3 yr old going to look for in a spouse if her family models words like “hate.”

        I am not saying that I am perfect or that my husband would boast of how I treat him 100% of the time, but it certainly makes you take a step back.

  2. the speech monster says:

    heartwarming. 🙂

  3. Loved reading this! My husband also makes me a better parent. He is the patient one in our house, as well. I strive to be as patient as he is!

  4. boomiebol says:

    Beautiful tribute!!! My husband said the same things when the girls came except he said ” we did it” and for a second I thought “we” no babe, ” I” lol…thank God for great fathers, husbands, and men. And for the ones who strive to be daily.

  5. momshieb says:

    What a lovely post! I married one of those great Dads, too! And my three grown children are still devoted to him, and he to them. And me to all of them!

  6. I loved reading this! Father’s should be celebrated much more often.I don’t know what I would do without my husband. He is wonderful to both my son and me. I get tears in my eyes sometimes when I watch Eli playing with his Daddy!

  7. Mark says:

    A very uplifting post. Thanks for sharing. Reminds us that raising kids is a partnership (ad)venture.

  8. Nicole says:

    so sweet! i love when moms aren’t bashful about praising the good job their husbands are doing as dads 🙂

  9. Aw!! You guys make a wicked team! I love those last two pictures, great shots 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7,178 other followers

Mamacravings Categories

Mamacravings Archives

