My Very Favorite Alarm Clock

14

May 28, 2012 by mamacravings

mamacravings

I heard Eli slip away from the bed even earlier than normal. “Where you off to, kiddo?,” I asked with one eye half open.

His feet pattered away, “I sees my JonJon!” JonJon is Eli’s 11 year old Uncle Jonathan. He stayed the weekend with us. I listened just long enough to hear the two of them chat and to hear the cartoons come on.

I tried to grab just a few more minutes of sleep.

I’m not sure how many more minutes I actually got, but soon a two year-old curly head popped over the side of the bed:

“Mama, gives me your toes”

I stuck my foot out from under the blanket.

“Wrong toes. The left one”

It was my left one, but it was too early for a teaching moment. I stuck out my other foot.

“Dat’s better.I gives you shoes. You get up. Mama! Why it stuck?? I helps your shoes on your feets.”

I pulled my shoe on.

“Get up, mama. Good mornin’. It’s mornin’. Hello, Sun! Hello, Dada! Where JonJon? Get up. I so hongrin! I want banas. Good mornin’, Win-tin!….”

I rolled out of bed with only one sunny yellow flat on my feet. I smiled at his energy. I headed towards the kitchen to grab some energy of my own.

It certainly isn’t the most gentle wake up call, but it is my very favorite.

My Very Favorite Alarm Clock

14 thoughts on “My Very Favorite Alarm Clock

  1. Oh my goodness! He is talking so much! And so adorable! You’ll be so glad to look back on these posts when he has long out grown this stage and in on to new other awesome (but probably not as insanely cute) things.

    • mamacravings says:

      I can’t get over how much he talks. I try to record and remember all of the Eli-isms he throws out there. It is so fun to have a conversation with him! šŸ™‚
      I certainly can’t imagine him getting more cute..I guess it could happen though. Lol

  2. Kim says:

    Even though I would have loved to sleep in a little longer on my day off yesterday; After my husband put Ian in our bed around 6 an hour later he crawls on top of me to kiss me and trys to make himself comforable on my chest. It was so sweet, but my eyes sure did not want to open.
    (hey have you come across that bannana bread recipe yet?)

  3. Eli still sounds a whole lot more gentle than Spot and Smudge who jump on the bed and use us as launching pads for ‘Cat Wars’ LOL

    • mamacravings says:

      Hahaha! Yes, certainly more gentle than Spot and Smudge. Eli was upset this morning, because Winston was asleep on my pillow…that I was still using. He said, “Get down, Win-Tin! Not yours. Dat my mama’s! Bad ole’ kitty!” ….What are we going to do with this kid? LOL

  4. I find that just when I think I’m ready to duct tape my little guys to their beds in the morning so I can get a little more sleep, one of them will pull a cute moment! Just this weekend as I was fighting to not open my eyes, my little Monkey snuggled right up to me and I could feel his breath on my face. Then he said, “I love you, Mommy.” How could I not open my eyes to that! šŸ™‚

  5. I shared this via twitter- so sweet! I know just what you mean about clinging to sleep and being pulled out of it by a cute little voice (sometimes cute…) So sweet that he actually tried putting on shoes for you! my son occassionally brings me coffee (he’s six) and that really DOES help šŸ™‚

    PS I loved your pictures for messy monday! They’ll be on the blog next week!

  6. Keri says:

    ah so cute! what a sweetheart. I usually just get, “Mommy? Will you carry me down? I need my bweakfast.”

  7. Oh my! Awww that is so sweet, so so sweet ā¤

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6,487 other followers

Mamacravings Categories

Mamacravings Archives

