Introducing Emma Caroline

12

June 9, 2012 by mamacravings

mamacravings

mamacravings.wordpress.com

There are friends. There are close friends. There are best friends. And then there is Sarah. Sarah and I met during our sophomore year of high school. She was shy and unsure. I was loud and had a smart mouth (“Was” is a strong word.). We were a perfect match. We are more sisters than friends.

Sarah and I just a couple of months ago at Eli’s birthday party. Our sons (Ethan and Eli) are just 6 months apart. Raising them together has been a blast!

High school graduation, college, weddings, and a couple of kids later we are still a perfect match.

Early on Wednesday morning, I loaded up my car and hit the highway towards Dallas. Sarah was 39 weeks 6 days pregnant with a baby girl. And we were finally going to meet her!

Hours passed.

Sarah is so strong.

Even while she was in labor, we laughed and caught up. We paused for contractions. I held my breath during each one. I was so proud of her.

Morning came and went. The afternoon slipped away. A storm had come in. There were threats of tornadoes. The rain pelted the hospital walls. Evening hours drew near.

At 5:18, she was born.

Emma Caroline entered this world face up. She had a full head of thick black hair. She was 6 pounds 15 ounces and 20 inches long.

Emma Caroline

She was perfection.

My Sarah,

I am so proud of you! I know it was a hard labor. And you were pure strength from beginning to end. You are a wonderful mother. I know balancing two little ones is going be…well, quite the balance, but you are the mama who can rock it out.

It was such an honor to be present during Emma’s birth. I cannot say “Thank you!” enough for allowing me to be a part of the process.

I remember us at 15 years-old giggling over weddings and baby names. We were so sure of how our lives would work out. It has worked out very well, even if not as planned. And I must say, we have fantastic taste in guys! We married a couple of great ones. And we sure do make pretty babies! šŸ™‚

I love you! ā¤

just more evidence of my niece’s perfection

Baby Emma,

I wonder if you insisted on being born face-up because you are inquisitive, independent and stubborn. I certainly hope so.

You are already such a beautiful little girl. We’re going to have the boy talk very soon. I’ll give you a hint: they’re stinky.

Your mama and I have big plans for you. But more importantly, God has big plans for you.

Little one, you are a very loved, very prayed over, very blessed little girl.

Kisses and cuddles,

Aunt Casi

Baby toes are just magical!

Sarah’s mama (aka MiMi) getting a close look at her granddaughter

Tim is a great husband and father. He is supportive of Sarah and is in love with his kids. He takes the opportunity to put on baby Emma’s first diaper.

Nothing like a daddy and his daughter…

A very proud Aunt Casi and the little girl that I plan on spoiling absolutely rotten šŸ™‚

(from Tim’s fb page) big brother Ethan meeting his little sister

(from Tim’s fb page) Oh the fun they will have! Oh the mischief that will happen! Oh the love they will share!

12 thoughts on “Introducing Emma Caroline

  1. boomiebol says:

    God bless you baby Emma, God bless you Sara and your entire family…and you too mama cravings. Thanks for sharing this…so beautiful and a new born just brings so much hope. Great post and glad i got to read this.

  2. She is absolutely stunning! I love hearing about a deep friendship, thank you for sharing.

    • mamacravings says:

      Thank you so much! I am just in love with her šŸ™‚

      I am really blessed with a friend like Sarah.

      In about a month, I’ll get to write a similar post about another dear friend that is having a little princess as well!

  3. Keri says:

    So adorable. She looks wide awake already! All the best!

  4. Sarah says:

    Thank you so much for introducing our sweet baby Emma. We are soooo stinkin’ in love with that little girl! I’m so glad you were able to come be a part of our special day. I love how we could sit and laugh between contractions!! Having you there made the time go by so fast!! šŸ™‚ I love you!

  5. Lovely, as we await the imminent birth of what will be the 14th grandchild, we pray she will be as healthy as Emma,
    She will be born at approximately 34 weeks, but the doctors are hopeful. God Bless these little girls.

  6. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as clean as when I arrived. I’ll be back!

  7. cafecitotime says:

    oh, she is beautiful… congratulations to you and her mommy. God Bless šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7,152 other followers

Mamacravings Categories

Mamacravings Archives

