Summer Mystery: The Case of the Missing Elmo Piece

10

June 15, 2012 by mamacravings

mamacravings

mamacravings

There is a particular puzzle that is Eli’s favorite. It is a foam floor puzzle, but more importantly it’s an Elmo puzzle.

We have tackled this puzzle together countless times. But this time was different.

This time we lacked one piece to complete the puzzle.

Eli didn’t take it as well as I thought he would. He stared at the puzzle and it’s jagged, missing edge. He looked in the box. He looked on the floor. He sighed heavily.

The Elmo puzzle and its Missing Piece

“Mama, where da Melmo piece?” His brow was furrowed. His arms were crossed. This could get serious.

I shrugged, “We’ll find it, little guy.”

“I look.” He jumped from the couch, and his little bare feet pattered to his room. I heard him yell, “Melmo piece! Where you go? Where you are? We find you, please?!”

After a few moments, Eli called for my help, “Mama! You find da Melmo? ‘Tome mere! I help you finds it!”

We looked in the toy basket, in the puzzle basket, in the master bedroom, in the kitchen and in the bath tub. Alas, no Elmo puzzle piece could be found.

The entire search, Eli was yelling for the puzzle piece to “‘Tome mere!” and telling the puzzle, “It ‘tay, puzzle. We find ‘da piece.”

Finally, Eli broke the bad news, “Melmo puzzle. I no finds da piece.” He patted the puzzle gently.

The case of the missing Elmo piece is still unsolved. Eventually, we will find it stuffed somewhere or hidden away in some compartment.

Until then, what a joy it is to watch my little one’s determination and sensitivity develop!

 

 

10 thoughts on “Summer Mystery: The Case of the Missing Elmo Piece

    • mamacravings says:

      Thanks 🙂 He was too funny walking around the house yelling for the puzzle piece to “‘Tome here!” I didn’t have the heart to tell him that it doesn’t work that way. 😉

  1. Poor baby! Such Empathy!

  2. I’m the same way. I remember the last puzzle I bought, a big 5,000 piecer. A beautiful landscape. I was going to put it together and then frame it. Missing one piece, smack dab in the middle of the puzzle so it couldn’t be covered by a frame. I have not bought a puzzle since, not even for a gift.

  3. I love how he was talking to the puzzle! Reminds me of my Monkey – just yesterday I asked him to find me the bowl he had his crackers in so I could load it in the dishwasher. He walked around the house saying, “Bowl? Where are you bowl?” 🙂

    • mamacravings says:

      Too cute!! Eli’s new thing to say when you look for something is “It right ‘dere! On ‘da table! On top!” …Sometimes it is. Sometimes it isn’t. Lol! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7,178 other followers

Mamacravings Categories

Mamacravings Archives

