When a Superhero Turns 82

7

June 26, 2012 by mamacravings

I am one lucky girl. I have a lot of guys in my life who I absolutely adore. There’s my daddy, 3 brothers, uncles, cousins, husband and my little Eli.

But there’s one guy that especially tugs on my heart: my GranDaddy.

GranDaddy and Eli count their Easter egg stash

My GranDaddy isn’t just any grandfather; I’m nearly positive that he’s a super hero.

It’s something about how tall he stands and how handsome he is. It’s something about how he commands respect, about how others are quick to listen even if he just speaks in a whisper. It’s something about how the world seems just right when he hugs you.

I’m sure GranDaddy is a super hero. He may not have the super ability to fly or time travel, but he has the super power of leading our family. He encourages us when our heads are low. He pushes us when he need a kick in the pants. He loves us through it all.

Nothing makes me stand taller or makes my heart swell more than GranDaddy saying, “I’m proud of you. You’re doing good, kid.”

When I was a little girl, I couldn’t imagine anyone standing taller, booming louder, loving harder, or encouraging better than my GranDaddy.

And now, about knee high, stands a curly headed little boy. He grins up at GranDaddy just as I did. Eyes light up, his neck cranes to see and little dimpled fingers reach out to get one of those famous hugs.

I’m sure as I Eli’s eyes sparkle, he must know the family secret. He has already found out about our superhero GranDaddy.

a superhero GranDaddy, a beautiful GranNoni and the smallest sidekick.

GranDaddy,

I couldn’t write out all of the lessons you have taught us. There are too many. Paper would run out and words would fail. But there is a recurring theme to these lessons. These lessons have been given over decades of time, they have spanned generations, they were big and small, but they can be summed up very simply. Family.

You don’t miss an opportunity to let each of us know that you are proud of us. But I know I don’t tell you often enough: I am so proud of you! I am so honored to a part of this family that you and GranNoni have built. I am so blessed to raise a new generation in a world where we have a superhero for a GranDaddy.

We love you.

Casi

Happy 82nd Birthday!

GranDaddy has served in the Navy, been a coach, ran a bowling alley and owned a couple of golf courses. 58 years ago, he married a beautiful and sassy Southern girl. They have 3 children, 13 grandchildren, 2 grandsons-in-laws, 1 great grandson, and a cat named Duff.

This week my GranDaddy is having a birthday. He’s the big 82!

Happy Birthday, GranDaddy!

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “When a Superhero Turns 82

  1. Staci Smith says:

    Casi, I just want you to know this brought me to tears..this is a sweet tribute to your Grandaddy and it is an honor to know him and your Grandmother both…Happy Birthday Grandaddy 😉
    Btw Casi Layne, I love you and very proud of what you have accomplished in life.

    • mamacravings says:

      Staci!! Don’t make me cry! I love you!

      Thank you so much! Your support means so much to me! We are totally hugging it out next time we see each other. LOL 🙂

  2. Lovely tribute…your granddaddy or Your Dad? It was hard to figure it out…..

  3. What a sweet post. Your grandfather sounds like a wonderful man!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7,179 other followers

Mamacravings Categories

Mamacravings Archives

