Eli the Encourager

12

June 28, 2012 by mamacravings

Every morning with Eli starts off pretty routine.

He wakes up before the sun. He tends to go from sound asleep to ready for the day in about 3 seconds. I admire this about him. He did not get it from me.

This morning he was particularly excited that Uncle “JonJon” had spent the night. Eli had planned the day before his feet could wiggle to the floor. “I’s a p’way. I’s a watch cartoons. I’s a go park. I’s a dance a song…”

We continued to chat as I readied myself for the day.

“Mama! High-fives! ‘Dat’s a good job!”

“What’s a good job?”

“You’s puts ‘da pants on! You did it! Good job! You’s sure are a big boy!”

My inner dialogue went from, “I wonder if God gets up this early?” to “This is going to be the best Thursday ever!”

Eli has a heart to encourage. He looks for ways to brighten others’ days. He looks for good things to say to someone.

While I didn’t find getting dressed on my particularly spectacular, he was quite impressed with such a conquering. More importantly, he took the time to say it.

I want to be more like my son.

Today will be a great day. It started early. It started slow

. But how could I have anything less than sunshine when Eli the Encourager is at my side.

Eli the Encourager

12 thoughts on “Eli the Encourager

  1. Reblogged this on Teachsafety and commented:
    EVERYONE SHOULD TAKE THE TIME TO SEE THE WORLD THROUGH THE EYES OF A CHILD!

    • mamacravings says:

      I completely agree. It’s funny how much we (grown ups) have to learn from our children.

      • His it is I went onto my Facebook! Please join me there!😄

      • mamacravings says:

        I would love to! I looked for a link to your fb page on your blog. There were a few Melinda Tripps as well when I searched on fb.

        What’s the link? I’m excited to connect! 🙂

      • I’m excited for you to help me with all of these connections! My daughter at 36 weeks with my fourth grandchild , her second daughter has been put on the job! She is getting great review on her blog she began a week ago called Princessand the sweetpea! But if you have tips for me, please….I really am a woman on a purpose driven mission, if you know how I can spread my words of safety! Please advise me!
        Melinda Reynolds Tripp on Facebook,
        Please ” like” What Should You Do? On Facebook,
        If you give me your address I will ship you a book, because after you have read it, maybe you, will be the key to my turning the corner on getting my message out!

      • mamacravings says:

        found you 🙂 We’ll chat more on fb! I’m excited to connect.

  2. I have reblogged this on my site, everyone needs to stop, and look at the world through the yes of a child!

  3. What a golden heart your son has!

    • mamacravings says:

      He absolutely does have a golden heart. I am so proud of him. At the same time, he humbles me and continually reminds of me of the mom I want to be for him.
      Eli is my sunshine. 🙂

  4. […] Eli the Encourager – I love this post from mamacravings about appreciating a little one’s talent for encouraging. […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7,055 other followers

Mamacravings Categories

Mamacravings Archives

