It’s the Thought That Counts: Gifts from a Toddler

18

July 3, 2012 by mamacravings

I am very thankful for such a loving, giving toddler. I am not always as thankful for the gifts he presents to me:

 

Eli: “Mama! I got yous a presthent!”

Mama: “How delightful! What did you find for me?”

Eli: “Hold outs your hand.”

(While I may only be two years into this parenting adventure, I have already learned that holding out my hand or closing my eyes and opening my mouth are perhaps 2 of the biggest parenting mistakes one could make.)

Mama: “How about you tell me about the surprise first.”

Eli: “Well….O’tay. It’s a….. *dramatic pause and dancing eyebrows* BUG!”

Mama: “A bug? Oh no thank you. Let’s put your surprise outside.”

Eli: “No, Mama! He’s my bug! He’s my friend! See.”

He unfolds a tightly clenched, sweaty fist to reveal a very squished fly. Delightful.

Mama: “Yup. Outside our bug friend goes.”

Eli: “No, Mama! No wakes up ‘da bug! He sleepin’!”

Mama: “He certainly is. I have heard that bugs like to nap outside. We’ll let him sleep in the sun while you play. How does that sound?”

Eli: “Deal.”

So, my gift wasn’t diamonds this time. But I certainly appreciate my little one’s generous spirit. In the end, everyone won. I didn’t have to hold a bug. Eli got to play outside. And the bug napped in the sun.

18 thoughts on “It’s the Thought That Counts: Gifts from a Toddler

  1. Staci Smith says:

    love it! He’s so sweet πŸ˜‰

  2. boomiebol says:

    Such a sweetheart :).

  3. Sarah says:

    Haha! That’s the best present ever!! “And the bug napped in the sun” That just cracks me up lol. πŸ™‚

  4. Love your surprise and good advice for
    New mommies!
    Idea for Eli
    1) find two snails about the same size
    2) use a slick surface, I used laminate
    Paper with a target omit made with a sharpie.
    3) put snails on the slightly wetted center
    4) first snail to slide to the outside circle wins!
    Happy 4th of July!

  5. Carolyn W. says:

    Next time maybe he can give it to Uncle Ryan…

  6. AJ's Mom says:

    Motherhood definitely comes with a lot of ‘bug’ surprises! You have a wonderful boy.

  7. the speech monster says:

    aww, what a sweetheart!!

  8. Haha too cute!

    xo

    Misfit Matriarch

    misfitmatriarch.com

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7,152 other followers

Mamacravings Categories

Mamacravings Archives

