A Bug on a Spoon

10

July 25, 2012 by mamacravings

My delightful 2 year-old is inquisitive and persistent. His new favorite word is “Why?” He never asks “Why?” just once.

Parenting just got interesting.

He pairs this budding curiosity with a new fascination: bugs. He never cared too much either way about bugs. But a recent run-in with a fire ant pile has put all things that crawl, creep and fly onto his radar.

This evening, Eli approached me with a spoon in hand. “Open, p’wease,” he smiled. I raised an eyebrow at the suspiciously empty spoon and asked what he was feeding me.

“Well, dat’s a bug.”

“I don’t typically eat bugs. No thank you.”

“Why no to eat bugs? ‘Dey tasty?”

“Not that I’m aware of. Let’s not eat bugs.”

“Why?”

“Well, some people eat them. But we’re not going to today….Is there really a bug on your spoon?”

“Yes. ‘Dat’s a bug. ‘Da ones ‘dat bite here.” He held up his leg to show the war wound of a fire ant.”

“Uh-Huh. New rule. No ants in the house. Deal?”

We went through a few rounds of “Why?”. I’m still not sure who won. But I do know that I ended up not eating a bug on a spoon.

 

 

10 thoughts on “A Bug on a Spoon

  1. megangahan says:

    so cute! you are preparing me for when my son gets a bit older, for sure!!

    • mamacravings says:

      Thank you!

      Absolutely! Asher will have a bug dinner on a spoon for you in no time. πŸ™‚

      I know they say “terrible two’s”, but I am having a blast with Eli at this age.

  2. Staci Smith says:

    that is so cute πŸ™‚

  3. Meghan says:

    Oh no, the ‘why’ stage. How I look forward to that. I saw it in a toddler at Avery’s daycare when I would pick him up. “why are you putting him in the carseat?” “because he is going home” “why?” “because it’s time for him to see mommy and daddy” “why? “because he misses them” “why?…luckily I was able to leave before another “why”.. I’m sure it’s FUN when you have a toddler yourself and have to carry out the conversation. Why not to eat bugs.. a very cute conversation. Love that he showed you where the bug bit him..haha

    • mamacravings says:

      I’m already running out of answers. I’m going to have to start consulting google. Lol

      The ant bit him over a week ago, but he still thinks he can see it. He is such a mess!

      πŸ™‚

  4. Liz says:

    That’s a parenting win, I would count it as a win if I ended up not eating a bug on a spoon. πŸ™‚

  5. LOL! We’ve avoided any bug eating here so far too πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7,055 other followers

Mamacravings Categories

Mamacravings Archives

