A Mama’s Sick Day

18

October 2, 2012 by mamacravings

Well, it has happened. I got sick. And it wasn’t just a bout with allergies or a changing of seasons cold. It was a sit-in-urgent-care in-sweat-pants-no-make-up-and-not-even-care-that-there’-good-coffee-being-given-away-sick.

I needed to take a sick day.

My husband teased about how nice it must be to stay at home for a day. I would have had a witty comeback, but my brain was too stuffed up. So, I grunted.

The doctor declared that I had a sinus infection, a losing fight against allergens and a bad case of bronchitis. That sounded about how I felt. I grunted in agreement.

He sent me home with an arsenal of antibiotics and orders to rest and to not go back to work for a few days. I explained very calmly and very voiceless-y that I was a teacher, a mother and was moving into a new house. There was no such thing as a sick day and certainly not multiple sick days. He laughed and said, “Fine. Come back in a few days when you have pneumonia.”

I grumpily gathered the mountain of paperwork I brought to grade and shuffled out the door.

I arrived home intending to sleep. But I happened to see a pile of dishes that sat there too long, because I how felt all weekend. There weren’t many dishes. And It wouldn’t take long, so I emptied the sink. I turned to see a pile of laundry. I could see this was going to quickly turn into a “If you Give a Mouse a Cookie” situation.

I started the laundry, stepped over the dust bunnies on the floor and planted myself in front of the tv. Before the first commercial break, I had calculated exactly how much I could get done in the remaining hours before picking up little Eli from preschool.

I groaned and explained to my brain to just give it up and rest. I gave it a shot and rested on and off until I went to pick up my little Eli.

In the evening, when my husband arrived home, he asked if I was feeling and better and how my “off day” went.

I just smiled.

My sick day consisted of:

getting my little one to and from school, paying bills, doing a sink full of dishes, three loads of laundry, sitting in a doctor’s office for too long, sitting at a pharmacy for even longer, grading hundreds of 5th grade papers and a few 7th grade papers, sweeping, dusting and spending some super quality time with my DVR and my favorite cozy quilt.

Even a mama’s sick day isn’t an off day.

18 thoughts on “A Mama’s Sick Day

  1. You are correct! Unless we are hospitalized and this unable to get to our laundry or dishes,
    We are always and forever on duty.
    My grandaughter shared her upper respiratory
    Virus with her Nana. We ended up in Bef watching videos and reading books….
    So here is hoping you are feeling much better!
    A day off….
    That is going on vacation……not a sick day

  2. Keri says:

    been there! amen 🙂

  3. Sarah says:

    A mama’s job is never ending! I hope you are feeling better!!!

    • mamacravings says:

      Thank you! I’m working on it. I am on A LOT of meds….like a lot. So, I’m fun to be around…well, except for that no voice thing.

      Anyway, if I “drunk” text you that I love you just know it’s the meds, mostly anyway.

  4. The only time I really took a “Sick day” was when I had the stomach flu and really could not get out of bed. My husband has to stay home for 2 days until I was up and around again. I hope you are feeling better!!

  5. NonMomma sick days aren’t off days either. I sympathize completely.

  6. Beth says:

    Hope you are feeling better! I usually have to have one foot in the grave before I use a precious sick day from work for myself – always trying to save them for when the kiddos are sick! Sounds like that’s exactly where you were! I think workplaces should give moms “kid sick days” and “mom sick days” because we definitely need them!!

    • mamacravings says:

      Thank you. I’m still feeling pretty yucky. I’m sure if I sat down for a bit and rested, I would feel better. Meh. Next time. 😉

      Kid sick days and Mom sick days would be the perfect solution! 🙂

  7. I really hope you are much better now! It doesn’t slow down when the mama is sick, does it?!? That’s usually when I feel really sorry for myself and think “no one else is going to get that 7th and crackers for me!”
    Sigh…

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7,153 other followers

Mamacravings Categories

Mamacravings Archives

