A Letter to Eli: You’re no Longer my Little Baby

21

October 4, 2012 by mamacravings

Today I noticed something. I’m sure it happened gradually, slowly day-by-day. But somehow this afternoon, it  took my breath away.

Those baby rolls are slimming down now that you can run and play. Confidently you climb to the top of the slide, a grin stretched across your face. It took you months to conquer it . Standing at the bottom, you would strain to see the top. It towered and it twisted, but you are my determined boy. You tried that slide at least a hundred times. Every trip to the park, it was your very first stop. There was apprehension, turning back and regretful tears, but now nothing stops you from jumping feet first, swooshing down and calling out with glee, “Everybody looks at me!”.

You’re no longer my little baby; instead you’re my growing boy.

Not long ago, I was coaching, coaxing, clamoring for babbles and simple words. Today you answer questions, tell jokes and play make believe. You tell me creative stories of astraunauts in outerspace and dinosaurs on adventures. A sly smile spreads across your face as you play pranks and gently tease those around you. Each afternoon as we drive from preschool, you tell me who played what and the letter of the day. You proudly proclaim all you’ve learned in circle time and what you molded out of clay. I soak up every word and devour every detail of your day. I cherish each word of your little voice, especially my very favorite: “I loves you, my mama.”

You’re no longer my little baby; instead you’re my growing boy.

Through all that you have conquered and all of the milestones you have met, what makes me the most proud is the little man you are growing to be. What a blessed mama I am to have such a loving little boy. I see your heart for others when you take joy in sharing. You have such a big heart for those who are sad and for those in need. And even more importantly, you seek a way to ease the pain of others. Through kind words or gentle pats, you do not let a friend continue to cry without them knowing that you are there for them. Just the other day, I watched you give up your favorite “motor-bicycle” in hope to help a friend feel better.

You’re no longer my little baby; instead you’re my growing boy.

It saddens me a little that when you read back on this, you might not even remember conquering the towering slide or chattering from your car seat. You may not remember all of the adventures of being 2. In fact, as much I cherish each moment, I’m sure that my memory won’t hold them all.

That being said, I do want you to always hold onto 3 things:

1. Whether it’s a towering slide or the great big world, you can take on any challenge. Take it on with determination. Conquer it with persistence.

2. I will always crave to hear about your day. Whether it is about circle time, baseball practice or about your own family one day, I will never tire of the words, “Guesses what happened at muh school today!”

3. You won’t always be my little baby. But you will always by my boy.

With every corner of my heart, I love you.

Love,

mama

21 thoughts on “A Letter to Eli: You’re no Longer my Little Baby

  1. Sarah says:

    BEAUTIFUL! Gah you’re a fabulous writer!

  2. boomiebol says:

    Beautiful!!! I always advice parents to write letters to their little ones…this is a beautiful one and i am certain Eli would appreciate it in many years to come.

    Thanks for sharing!

  3. Just so adorable… yes at some point they start to become our growing (little) boys! Mine’s going that way now. ;-s Hope all is well Momma x

    xx D

  4. Jess B. says:

    I love this! I am a new mama, and have been trying to keep my thoughts on my blog. Writing a post directly to my baby girl will have to come soon. Lovely story and advice 🙂

  5. stace8383 says:

    What a beautiful post, for a beautiful boy!

  6. Staci Smith says:

    Casi what a beautiful story! I love it!! You have such a sweet boy and you are a lovely momma!! 🙂 but what can I say, I’m a little partial 😉

  7. xo Dee says:

    Super sweet and beautifully written! It’s amazing (and slightly sad) on how quick the grow up.

  8. auntie k says:

    This post is so sweet and the pictures are adorable! You’re an amazing mama!

  9. Thanks for visiting my blog. Reading this brought tears to my eyes. My older son is now 4 and i feel time has flown by and its only now that i am writing my blog that i fully appreciate what a journey its been. and you are right. they wont always be our babies but they will always be our boys.

    • mamacravings says:

      Absolutely! I am excited to read more.

      They grow up so quickly. 😦 It’s such a bittersweet thing. I’m so proud of him, but I don’t want to forget all of these little moments of him being small.

  10. xm1204 says:

    Oh my gosh, I LOVE those photos. What a smart idea to use chalk to document your son’s age and the way he looks at that time. Your description of Eli conquering the slide warmed my heart, and the takeaway at the end is perfect. My son is two also, and it terrifies me/makes me happy to see how much he has grown in just a couple of years. It will be a nice treat for Eli to read this letter you’ve written when he’s older and he can see himself through your loving eyes.

    • mamacravings says:

      Thank you so much! My little guy turned 3 on Tuesday, and it was certainly bittersweet. I am so proud of him! But I can’t believe that the time is passing so quickly.

      I go the chalk idea from a friend of mine..I had no idea if he would actually sit still, but he did! Ta-Da! 😀

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7,178 other followers

Mamacravings Categories

Mamacravings Archives

