Conversations with Eli: A Ride to School

14

November 1, 2012 by mamacravings

There is a structure to the morning drive to school with Eli:

1. We rock out to Mandisa’s “Good Morning”.

2. We count the school buses on the roads.

3. We speak positive affirmations.

4. We pray.

Eli had successfully counted 4 school buses and decided that they were racing school buses. He shouted “Hurries! Hurries! as each on passed.” He wiggled and bobbed his head as “Good Morning” reached his favorite part. “Tops ‘da mowrnin’s to ya ‘Disa,” he belted out.

“Look at ‘da school bus, my Mama! It’s a fast racer. VaaaROOOM! ‘Dere it goes. Oh, it gonna win ‘da race. Good job, yellow school bus!”

“It certainly might win. Eli are you going to have a great day?”

“Yups. I is. I’s gonna haves a great day! T’anks to God for ‘da great day. Looka ‘da moon! Oh, it’s so pretty. It glowy like glow sticks. O’tay, moon. Time to go night-night. It ‘da sun turn now. My mama, you haves a great day?”

“Yes, little bear. I’m going to have a great day. Are you ready to pray?”

“Dears to God, great day. I pwray for Mollie Cake and Misdur Jody and Mario and ‘da toys and Sadie dog and my toys and Turner.”

“Father, we thank you for such a beautiful day. You bless us every day. We pray that Eli will be a leader in his school. We pray for a heart for learning for our little one. We pray that he shines for You….”

“We prays ‘da airplanes and have fun to Halloweeen. Amen.”

“Halloween is over, Eli.”

“What??”

“Halloween is just one day. We went to Festival 31. It’s over now.”

“Ah man!!” His arms folded across his chest in a huff, “But I p’ways games and pet ‘da sheeps some more!”

“It isย disappointingย when fun things end. I’m very glad we got to have such a great time. I am thankful for our memories. Now we can look forward to Thanksgiving.”

“Stinky givings? Why is it stinky?”

“No. No. THANKSgiving. as in giving thanks and saying thank you.”

“You’re welcome. T’anks for yours good manners.”

I hope that everyone had a wonderful Halloween! In our house, we are looking for to our next big holiday: StinksGiving.

14 thoughts on “Conversations with Eli: A Ride to School

  1. boomiebol says:

    Awww :). He’s such an angel. My girls love Mandisa’s Goodmorning too…such fun and beautiful song

  2. Meghan says:

    He is adorable! I love how he said you’re welcome and thanks back to you!

  3. whyilovetina says:

    I love the ritual…. I might sneak that in when I take my daughter to school. Sweet times!

    • mamacravings says:

      If I forget the ritual, he asks for it. ๐Ÿ™‚ Or if I forget a part of the prayer that we say every day, then he reminds me. This morning he said, “Ands my heart. Pwray for my heart.” โค

  4. lifeofaministermom says:

    ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Oh my goodness….I needed that smile! What a fun little person he is! How is the hair washing going now?
    Did puppets help, I loves that letter!

    • mamacravings says:

      The hair washing is going SO much better. I haven’t taken the time to sit down and make the puppets quite yet. The move to the new house is eating my time. But I absolutely will make them and try them out. I was really thankful for Harriet’s advice. She has 30 years in child development experience. She has a lot of tricks up her sleeve ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Sarah says:

    Hahaha StinksGiving! My new favorite holiday!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7,178 other followers

Mamacravings Categories

Mamacravings Archives

