Saturday Strollin’ with a Superhero

9

December 11, 2012 by mamacravings

We were taking advantage of a perfectly good Saturday morning. Breakfast dishes were still in the sink, and I was curled up in bed watching an incredibly ridiculous Christmas movie. Little Eli laughed and darted from room to room as he played.

I sighed as I realized that eventually I would have to roll out of bed. A mental checklist of the “must-dos” and “should-dos” were quickly piling up in my head. I sighed again.

“Elijah,” I called out, “Come here, please. I have a question to ask you.”

He popped up from behind the bed, “Here I am! I, Eli, ams here!”

“Would you like to go for a walk?” I must be honest. I wasn’t asking for the exercise or the fresh air but simply to put off that checklist.

A bundle of energy, in the form of a two-year old boy, bounced about the room. He jumped up and down as he spoke and danced in between breaths, “Well, fors my walk, I’s dunna need shoesth, my glasthses…Oh. And some pantsth.”

I grinned. I don’t know why I would ever think this would could ever be a simple routine walk with my little Eli along.

All of the appropriate items were gathered: his favorite shoes, a pair of spiderman goggles and, of course, some pants. The stroller had barely been unfolded when Eli dove into the seat. “Let’s go, my Mama!,” he called out with a fist pump and slight adjustment to the goggles.

Strollin

Our little routine walk to the park and through the trails became a great quest for crunchy leaves and crawling bugs. We marveled at rows of ants marching by. We counted cardinals and “listened to our ears” at their song. We found a delightfully fat slug as it slowly inched past.

It wasn’t a quiet walk, and it certainly wasn’t a relaxing walk. But it was a good hour and a few miles shared with my creative, witty, adventurous little boy.

I am so thankful that the simplest task can be the greatest adventure with my Eli. He sees nothing as routine, only as opportunity for fun. His heart is always open to a new experience. His mind is always seeking to learn.

My Heart Belongs To

I must say, I still have so much to learn from my little superhero standing just knee high.

9 thoughts on “Saturday Strollin’ with a Superhero

  1. ambercease says:

    Awww, this is beautifully put! I have a 2 1/2 yr. old and he just LOVES taking walks downtown! There is so much going on there for him to observe and absorb! Love how he sports goggles for his walks, hehe… too cute ❀

    • mamacravings says:

      Isn’t it fun!? I’m not even sure how I how I went on walks before I had him. They all seem so boring now.

      He calls his goggles his glasses. It cracks me up! He wears them around the house too. πŸ™‚

  2. Keri says:

    OMG that glasses are too much! he’s so fun πŸ™‚

  3. It’s awesome he knows he needs pants… πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6,488 other followers

Mamacravings Categories

Mamacravings Archives

