Eli and Eggs Part 4357

14

December 16, 2012 by mamacravings

My 2 year-old darling child has a fascination with eggs. He quietly sneaks away to steal them out the refrigerator and to line them up one-by-one along the kitchen floor.

During the last egg incident, I asked why he continually got them out. His response: “I likes ‘da eggs be’tause they’s cold to my fingers. Eggs are crunchy on ‘da outside and super squishy, squishy on ‘da inside. Yous have to uses gentle fingers with ‘da eggs. I likes to be gentle fingers.”

It’s difficult to argue with such a response. So, I just hugged him and said, “Fair enough.”

I now keep the eggs on a higher shelf and out of sight from my curious little boy. It has worked for the last few weeks.

Today that changed.

I had left Eli in the play room with his dad and uncle. I heard the shrieks of laughter and busy feet as they played. So, I did what moms don’t do often enough: I sat down.

A few minutes passed, and I thought I would add a diet Dr. Pepper to my lovely moment of pure slothfulness. What I found when I entered the kitchen was a curly headed kid bent intently over his work.

“What are you up to?”

“Waiting for ‘da chickens.”

“Waitng for what chicke…Why do you have eggs?”

“Wellll..be’tause I want to see ‘da chickens in ‘da eggs. But they not hatchin’, so I, Eli, is gonna makes a choo-choo train. Choo Choo!!!”

IMAG1601

We carefully placed the eggs back in their carton. I suggested we get out his big dump truck. He hesitantly agreed, but then began to smile, “I shares my big dump trucks withs you, my mama. I play with you?”

So, my moment of laziness was cut short, but for a very important dump truck play date with my favorite 2 year-old.

14 thoughts on “Eli and Eggs Part 4357

  1. Mads and Me says:

    My daughter is 18 months and has the same facination. She is not, however, gentle with them. She loves smashing them into a bowl, onto the counter or on the floor. She can hear the refrigerator door open from a hundred yards away and rushes over saying “Eggs?…eggs?…eggs?”

    • mamacravings says:

      I have been thankful that only our first egg incident was a messy incident. I am also thankful that my kid does not like messes. I’m not sure how I got lucky with that one, but I will take it πŸ™‚

  2. You must never miss a play date…….
    I have a 31 yr old that wanted me to play Barbie with her some 27 yrs ago….I was busy, I was rushed, and I missed so much…..now I savor these moments with the grands….I have learned from my loss, it is God’s grace that you understand early……and will be blessed again.

    • mamacravings says:

      As busy as things get, I try to stop and play as often as I can. And I work really hard not to turn down a play date. He is growing so quickly. I know that time is just going to speed up. It’s a sad thought, but one that keeps me in the moment πŸ™‚

  3. Too funny.
    Nice of him to agree to share.

  4. My toddler went through a period where he was fascinated by eggs. He mostly cracked them onto the floor (or sometimes into a bowl). I’m happy that period seems to have passed. Eggs are not fun to clean up!

  5. That is the cutest photo. πŸ™‚ He looks so happy. The world through a child’s eyes is so much fun. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7,178 other followers

Mamacravings Categories

Mamacravings Archives

