“I got you, my Mama.”

10

January 10, 2013 by mamacravings

We were still as can be as little Eli tried to drift off to sleep. His rubbed his heavy eyes and blinked hard to keep them open. I rubbed his hair. My husband sang Eli’s favorite lullaby. Our world was still and happy.

Eli sleepily muttered about the room being too dark. He’s afraid of the dark and the noises that he can’t see. My husband pulled him close, “It’s okay. I’ve got you Eli.”

Eli sighed and smiled. He patted his daddy’s arm.

A few moments passed and that dimpled hand took my own. Even though barely awake, his eyes locked on mine. With quiet strength and great sincerity he declared, “Don’t be a’scared. I got you, my Mama.”

10 thoughts on ““I got you, my Mama.”

  1. These posts always make me tear up! ahhh! ❤

  2. Mia says:

    How beautiful! I love the things kids say 🙂

  3. Stephanie says:

    How sweet! These sweet moments keep us going through the tough moments!

  4. Julie says:

    How absolutely sweet. I love the way Eli thinks.

  5. Whitney says:

    What a little sweetie pie! Lucky you though, as you have each other for life! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7,178 other followers

Mamacravings Categories

Mamacravings Archives

