Conversations with Eli: Not too Heavy to Hold

17

February 15, 2013 by mamacravings

DSCN5830

“Oh my! You are getting heavy!”

“I’s not, Mama. Don’t says that I, Eli, is not too heavy fors you.”

“You’re not?”

“No. be’tause if I’s too heavy, ‘den my mama can’t holds me. ‘Dat make my heart cwry.”

“I suppose I didn’t think of it that way. That is very sad.”

“Uh-Huh.”

“Well, I am thankful that you are not too heavy. I can still hold you and carry you.”

“Mes too. But whens I too big, wills your heart cwry, my Mama.”

“Yes, I’m sure. But then I will find other ways to ‘hold you’. By then you will be able to read the notes in your lunch box by yourself. And that will be another way I hold you. You will tell me about your day, the highs and the lows. I will celebrate with you; I will mourn with you. And that will be another way I hold you. You will get too big to carry. You will get to big to even rock. But you will never be too big to hug or too big for kisses.”

“Never ever?”

“Never ever, ever. I true promise.”

“T’anks, my Mama. I love you my whole heart.”

17 thoughts on “Conversations with Eli: Not too Heavy to Hold

  1. Oh my gosh! This makes my heart cwry! How adorable is he?! I can’t wait to have conversations with my little Eli!

  2. My little guy just went through this too. He’s very sensitive as well. You see, he’s 3 but he’s so tall he looks 5.
    I had to stop carrying him last week because I severely tore a muscle in my shoulder – which strangely enough, was caused by carrying him. (All the weight on one side of my body=my shoulders couldn’t balance it + my spine couldn’t support it)
    So, although this is heartbreaking for us Mamas, I strongly advise you don’t end up like me.
    *hugs*

  3. Staci Smith says:

    I started reading this and thinking of my Johnathon and Bradley’s ages…they are 14 and 10…this story gave me chills and made me cry. I love you.

  4. Dida says:

    Oh Eli, you melt my heart!!

  5. Staci Smith says:

    That I would have to agree with

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7,178 other followers

Mamacravings Categories

Mamacravings Archives

