Is it Worth it: DIY ‘Biore’ Strips Face Mask

16

February 18, 2013 by mamacravings

Continuing our “Is it worth it?” series, we are diving into the world of Health and Beauty. I am a sucker for beauty products. I have an entire cabinet dedicated to such products…an. entire. cabinet. If it promises silkier, shinier or smoother then I have bought it.

I have tried a couple of DIY masks before, but I haven’t liked them as much as my frilly scented store-bought masks.

However, this mask’s promise of working like a Biore strip was too tempting to pass up.

 

Materials:

1. unflavored gelatin

2. milk (of any kind)

I used cow’s milk because that’s what I had on hand. One blogger said that using coconut milk added to the benefits of healthy skin.

 

Steps:

1. Combine 1 tablespoon of gelatin with 1 tablespoon of milk in a small bowl.

2. Microwave the mixture for 10 seconds (just long enough to warm it).

3. Using a Q-Tip, apply the mixture to your face.

4. Wait 5-15 minutes (or until the mask has stiffened) and peel it off of your face.

 

I read through several blogs who used this mixture. Some said to only apply it to your nose, or your nose and chin. And some suggested applying it to your entire face. I went all out. I applied a thick, even coat to my entire face.

Here's me...in a sweatshirt...without makeup...trying to smile through a mask.

Here’s me…in a sweatshirt…without makeup…trying to smile through a mask.

 

How much did it cost? I used the milk that was already in my fridge. I bought an all-natural gelatin for a little over $1.00. The one box of gelatin had at least 4 servings in it.  So, I made this mask for a little over $0.25.

Was the gelatin hard to find? The gelatin was with the other gelatin and Jell-O products in the baking aisle. I didn’t have any trouble finding it at my local grocery store chain.

How did it work? I found that it worked pretty well. I accidentally left it on a few minutes past time (Eli was in the bath, and I got distracted playing pirates and dinosaurs.). It was a bear to get off. It definitely was more difficult to peel off than a Biore Strip. I ended up washing the rest off with a warm rag. My face felt almost raw for a few hours. It didn’t hurt, but it just felt scratched. On the flip side though, my skin felt very smooth.

Is it worth it? I give it a resounding, “Meh.” I would like to try again, but next time I will leave the  mask on for the minimum amount of time. Perhaps this would make it less harsh.

Have any of you tried this DIY Biore Strip mask before? Was it worth it?

 

16 thoughts on “Is it Worth it: DIY ‘Biore’ Strips Face Mask

  1. mymotherlied2me says:

    My husband has large pores on his nose and the biore strips work wonders!! I have small pores on my nose and it was still able to pull out some junk.

    i Love them and recommend them!!

    As for the biore strip face mask, I’ve never tried.

    • mamacravings says:

      I LOVE Biore Strips. I swear by them. I am going to try these DIY ones again but with leaving it on for less time. I hope that it will be less harsh. I guess it’s hard to make the switch from a product I already love.

  2. susiekline says:

    I’ve been wondering about this. I have really really sensitive skin so maybe I wont try it.

    • mamacravings says:

      If you try it, Susie, I would only leave it on for a few minutes and then wash it off with a warm wash cloth. I would not try to peel it off if you have sensitive skin. I am going to look for a more gentle mask.

      • susiekline says:

        If you wash it off will you still get the gunk out of your pores? That’s what I love about the biore strips! lol It’s gross, but wow!

      • mamacravings says:

        That’s what I wondered too. I’m going to play with this one a bit. I REALLY wanted it to work since I love the Biore strips so much. I will experiment in a few days and try just washing it off. We’ll see if it gives the same effect.

  3. I’ve never tried this, but please make sure you let us know how round 2 goes! If it does well, I might try it myself!

  4. sparkmama says:

    I haven’t tried this mask, but I did see it tried by “Pintester” (http://pintester.com/2012/01/pore-strips/), and she had the same experience of it coming off roughly. Sounds like hers was a bit rougher than you experienced though, and your application looks less “chunky” than hers does.

    I’ll be awaiting a recap of try two!

    • mamacravings says:

      Oh yeah, I have to check out her experience too! Mine was fairly gloopy. The spots where it wasn’t as gloopy (where I had less), I found that it was more difficult to get off. I still didn’t use all of the solution in my bowl, so I wonder if there would be a different effect if I made a point to use every single drop… I’m excited to try again. I’m a sucker for an experiment. Lol

  5. elarte79 says:

    My wife and her friend tried this several weeks ago and her reaction was also a “meh.” I, however, had a grand time watching them wince and grumble about the discomfort of peeling.

    • mamacravings says:

      Ha! My husband and my mother-in-law found it to be delightfully entertaining. My 2 year-old’s reaction was, “Are you serious??” I suppose it was more entertaining for the spectators than the maskee.

  6. Jessica says:

    This mask stinks. The first time I layered it on too thin, then let it dry so much my cheeks were almost busting out, I had to scratch it off. And the only thick glob I seemed to leave was on the peak of my left eyebrow, so goodbye to those four vital hairs.

    The second time I did it I stayed clear of my eyebrows, used one thick globby uniform coat over my entire face, then I let it dry for 40 minutes (I guess I like have no baby fuzz on my face and I like pain.) It peeled marvelously, but my face framing Wild Mother fuzzy hairline seemed to go with it, next time, and their will be a next time, I will pull my hair back.

    I think I should also paint on separate sections, because seguing one continuous, even peel (like waxing) is hard when moving from the forehead to nose, or chin to cheek to lip. It’s cheap, but it takes an aestheticians certificate or someone willing to butcher their eyebrows in the name of beauty.

    And yes, I did see a lot of blackheads among the fuzz. Once I get the hang of it, it will be amazing.

    Oh, and I did my husband’s back… I might as well have waxed it because he was in PAIN, it was hilarious, and messy, and I should’ve gone in sections. He was laying on his stomach for one whole peaceful (jk) hour.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7,152 other followers

Mamacravings Categories

Mamacravings Archives

