Conversations with Eli: A Good Team

16

March 18, 2013 by mamacravings

DSCN6253

“I apologize for yelling. It wasn’t the right way to go about things.”

“T’anks you. I’s sorry for t’rowing a fit in ‘da store. ‘Dat wasn’t nice.”

“Are we good?”

“Yep. We good.”

“Good.”

“Mama. You’s make my ears sad when you yells.”

“I am very sorry, Eli. I will work my very hardest to communicate better. Thank you for telling me your feelings.”

“It not effec-pives.”

“You’re right. Yelling is not effective.”

“Nei-ver is t’rowing fit”

“Nope. Neither is throwing fits. Let’s work together on it.”

“‘Tay. We’s a good team.”

16 thoughts on “Conversations with Eli: A Good Team

  1. MommyVerbs says:

    Apologize. … What a fantastic Momma you are. It is hard to admit when we get it wrong in the moment…but what a powerful lesson in how to admit, “Yep, I messed up and I’m sorry.” Then how to make a plan to move forward from there. Thanks for sharing this sweetness.

    • mamacravings says:

      Thank you 🙂

      I spend a lot of time apologizing. I am ridiculously human with countless flaws. More than I want my son to think of me as super-mom, I want him to understand that he’s human too with human emotions and human mistakes. I have learned so much since I have been given up being supermom and embraced being human. ❤

  2. Visiting from Mom’s Monday Mingle. A familiar scene in our house, too. I hope you’ll share it at this week’s Friday Flash Blog on The Jenny Evolution (www.thejennyevolution.com). Would love to have you join our community.

  3. This is one is so adorable! I apologise too, its good to admit you are only human and get things wrong of course it backfires slightly when your teen says apologise then woman lol but that’s a worry for another decade.

  4. Amber Perea says:

    He sounds so wonderful!

  5. Meghan says:

    Awe, he’s such a little MAN! So cute!

  6. I personally believe that, when we are able to humble ourselves, admit our wrongs and apologize to our kids, we show them it’s ok to make mistakes, that it’s ok to not be perfect and that it’s good to apologize and talk about it. And most importantly it teaches them forgiveness too. I love reading your post. You’re a good mom. 🙂

    • mamacravings says:

      Thank you so much. I completely agree. If I want him to be a humble, respectful person who honors other, I need to learn to be an example…which is so much easier said than done…

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7,055 other followers

Mamacravings Categories

Mamacravings Archives

