Turn Doodles into Hand-Made Cards

8

May 11, 2013 by CassieCravings

 

Eli 1280

A hand-made card from a little one is always the best gift. But I added a bit of a twist. We turned 3 year-old Eli’s masterpiece into cut out letters for a teacher thank-you note.

 

what we used: 

* 2 plain sheets of scrapbook paper

*several markers in coordinating colors

*A Cricut (This is just what we have on hand. Stencils would work nicely as well.)

*patterned scrapbook paper

 

how we made this craft: 

1. Eli drew his masterpiece in gray marker all over a plain sheet of scrapbook paper.

photo (1)

“It’s a bear and a wrocket ships and a dinosauwr that saysth ‘ROAR!'”

2. I used the Cricut to cut out “Thank you.” from Eli’s masterpiece. If you don’t have a Cricut, use stencils and a straight edge. Use a little one’s delightful doodles for flowers and other fun shapes. Layer different colors to create a new masterpiece from the original.

Eli 1283

3. Because I used scrapbook paper, I folded the card into a triangle. It wasn’t what I had first intended, but it was an odd size for a traditional card. So, we went with it like we meant it 😉

3. After I glued down the letters, I outlined them to add contrast (since I ended up using the same color for both the card and the doodles).

Eli 1282

 

4. Eli wrote “thank you” at the bottom of the card. He is a beginning writer and reader, so I told him each letter to write. He was very upset that he messed up the “N” but I adore it. I told him it shows how much he has learned and that he is still learning.

Eli 1281

5. With the patterned paper, I cut out several hearts and pasted them down.

6. The inside of the card was all about expressing our appreciation for Eli’s preschool teacher.

Eli 1284

Eli even signed his name ❤

 

 

Eli 1288

a letter of thanks

8 thoughts on “Turn Doodles into Hand-Made Cards

  1. Renard Moreau says:

    [ Smiles ] Now, that is a great idea!

  2. Julie says:

    I love this idea! You just might have given me an idea for how to use my daughters very prolific drawings. 🙂

  3. Mama Carmody says:

    This is a great idea for grandparents, aunts and uncles as well. Also a good idea for grandparents to help the child make a special card for mom and dad. Thanks so much for the inspiration.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7,176 other followers

Mamacravings Categories

Mamacravings Archives

