Conversations with Eli: The Ins and Outs of Emotions

6

May 7, 2014 by mamacravings

 

“Does gwrown upsth and kidsth have ‘da same emotionsth?”

“What do you think?”

“Well, I t’inks maybe so, ‘cept ‘dat some is biggewr and some is smallewr.”

“Explain that.”

“Like when a heawrt has jealousth. I t’ink ‘dat kidsth have biggewr jealousth be’tause ‘dey alwaysth twryin’ to get u’dewr kidsth to play with ‘dem. It like all ‘da time is jealousth. But gwrown upths just have ‘dere fwriends al’weady, so ‘dere not so much jealousth in ‘deiwr heawrts.”

“That’s interesting insight. Which emotions are bigger in grown ups then?”

“Sad. A lot of timesth I see a gwrown up smile, but ‘deir eyes are sad. Kidsth don’t have sad as much in ‘deir heawrts. ‘Dey don’t have time be’tause ‘dey always leawrning and playing.”

“How do you know about smiling with sad eyes? What made you think of that?”

“Just lookin’ good at people, I guessth. I listhen good, so I know.”

“How would you help a kid who is feeling jealous?”

“I play with ‘dem. Fwriends fix it. ‘Dey just need to know we fwriends no mattewr what.”

“And what about a grown up who is sad?”

“I play with ‘dem too. Playin’ fixesth mostht of ‘da stuff ‘dat wrong.”

DSC_0345

6 thoughts on “Conversations with Eli: The Ins and Outs of Emotions

  1. Carolyn Williams says:

    I think that is a good reason for playing in the flowerbeds this weekend. I love you, the mama of the mama

    _____

  2. mamacarmody says:

    That is so sweet and such insight. Eli can come play with me when I’m sad.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6,485 other followers

Mamacravings Categories

Mamacravings Archives

