Conversations with Eli: The Reals of Feels

6

October 9, 2014 by mamacravings

“I has a pwroblem.”

“Tell me about it.”

“I has lotsth of afwraid in in muh heawrt in ‘da bafwroom at school.”

“Why are you feeling afraid?”

“I don’t know. I told muh teachewr. She checked fowr monstewrs, and didn’t find any.”

“Well, that’s promising! So, if the bathroom doesn’t have anything scary, then there’s no reason to be afraid. Right?”

“Suwre. But I can’t help it. ‘Da afwraid keeps getting in muh heawrt even if muh bwrain knows ‘dere’s no monstewrs. Feelings are real even wif’ pwretend t’ings.”

DSC_0845 1

6 thoughts on “Conversations with Eli: The Reals of Feels

  1. Jo says:

    All those stalls. My son used to like to try out every bathroom every place we would go. I couldn’t understand it. At first it was a special place for Dad and Son then he just liked to venture on his own. Side note: maybe it’s the size of the fixtures — a little to big, tall. Jo @ Let’s Face the Music

    • mamacravings says:

      Yes, Jo! I think it’s the fear of what’s around the corner. I may even suggest that he checks each (unoccupied) stall. Perhaps that will help! The fixtures and flushes in public toilets are much louder than at home. Perhaps it become a compare and contrast game?

      Thank you so much for your input! I appreciate you!

  2. eveclo says:

    I’m sorry but that is quite possibly one of the cutest things I’ve ever read! Poor little honey. He’s adorable.

  3. My older son had bathroom fear and monster in the closet fear for quite a fear years. It broke my heart! At my son’s age of 17, your post brought me back to those long-gone days. Thank you. Catie

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7,153 other followers

Mamacravings Categories

Mamacravings Archives

