A Celebration of Life: Remembering Blaire 

33

March 5, 2015 by mamacravings

I have written this countless times. Every time I erase every word I’ve written and stare helplessly at the blank screen and the blinking cursor. There are no words. There is not a single word or a string of words or even an arrangement of words that could describe who Blaire is. For over a week, I have tried to find them. They are not there. Again I am sitting in my desk chair and am staring at a computer screen in the middle of the night. I feel lost. So, I’m doing what I do when I feel lost, I am writing.  But there are no words. 

Just a little over a week ago, I received the most heartbreaking message. It was from a dear friend’s husband. It was just 6 words. 6 little words made up of 7 little syllables all stretched across one little line: She is no longer with us. I read the words again and again. I screamed the words, but they got caught in my throat. I reasoned with those 6 words. She was fine just a couple of hours ago. She was fine! We were talking. We were laughing. She was fine. Those 6 words blurred in my tears, but they stayed there, glowing and glaring. 

She is no longer with us. 

Blaire was 27 years-old. She had a heart-attack. She was 39 days from delivering a baby boy. And she is no longer with us. Neither is he. This a tragedy. It is dreadful. It is unfair. We have lost a beautiful woman and her precious son, Cassius. 

As we mourn, I want you to know about my friend. Even though our hearts are breaking, I want to celebrate the life of Blaire. She was an extraordinary woman. She was ferociously passionate about human rights. She would not stand for injustice. She gave a voice to the voiceless. She challenged me to ditch any apathy I shamefully tend to be prone to possessing. 

 There were many political items that we agreed on and many more that we did not. But every time I spoke with her I was inspired to learn more. She never believed something just because someone told her to do so. Her beliefs were founded, researched and well-defended. That may sound like my friend was harsh and maybe even hard to get along with. However, her passion was met with equal compassion. Even a passionate disagreement would not be at the cost of the other’s dignity. 

One of my favorite qualities was her heart for others. When I spoke to her she made me  feel like I was the only person in the world.  Blaire would remember details that even I forgot that I had shared. She stored those details away. Then, just when I needed to be remembered most, she would pour into me. She made me feel valued and treasured. She always listened to any vent or celebration I had. Nothing was too small or too insignificant. She listened. Every time. She was never too preoccupied to hear every word I had.

Blaire was a tree-hugging, rights-fighting, equality-promoting soul. She was a loving wife and a devoted mama. On this earth, there is still a husband and 3 year-old daughter who mourn her. The world lost one of its greatest advocates for humankind. We will miss her greatly and always. 

To honor Blaire, let’s help carry on her legacy. It is simple, and it powerful: Everyone deserves dignity, regardless of social status, income, education, race, culture, religion. Treat everyone with dignity. Lift each other up. 
There is very little we can do to help ease the hurt of the Emerson family as Will mourns his wife and as Rowan mourns her mother, but we can do something. We (Blaire’s friends) have started a fund for Will and Rowan. It will be used primarily for Rowan’s education and to help ease the transition of the family. Please donate to this family. Please lift them up today as they are going through this unspeakable tragedy (To give to the Emerson family, click HERE.).

Blaire

Blaire and her beautiful daughter Rowan as an infant.

 

33 thoughts on “A Celebration of Life: Remembering Blaire 

  1. sbear2014 says:

    I am so sorry for the unfair loss of your friend and her baby. Prayers to her family!

  2. josephine715 says:

    My heart goes out to you and Blaire’s family. Such a loss! I wish I had known her–she sounds amazing!

  3. Tales of a Twin Mombie says:

    Wow. How awful and unfair. Thinking of you and Blaire’s family during this loss 😥

  4. The funschool mom says:

    I am so sorry for your loss. She sounds like the most amazing friend.

  5. I can sympathize, we lost my husband mom in a accident last year. It was a huge shock, she was so young. Praying for comfort and peace for all those affected by Blair’s passing

  6. 2penthrupain says:

    So very sorry for your loss.

  7. What a beautiful tribute for your friend and her family. I’m sorry for your pain, thank you for writing through it to celebrate her life, blessings to you all.

  8. Omg how does something like this happen

  9. cote8050 says:

    very moving, I am so sorry for everyone’s’ loss, my prayers are with you and all her family, we don’t have to know each other to feel this pain, such a tragedy.

  10. That is so heartbreaking. Two lives. May comfort settle into the family’s heart and yours when the time is right.
    We’ve had a horrible week with a family member who is 27 and 30 weeks pregnant as she was in a coma with Meningitis. Loosing a friend always hurts but something about the longing and expectation for the mother and child made it so much harder on us all. Fortunately she is getting better but we won’t know about the baby till she is born in due time.
    Bug hugs and lots of prayers.

  11. I knew I was walking into a sad story, but nothing prepared me for such a tragic incident. As a previous blogger eloquently stated: we don’t have to know each other to feel this pain. I am very sorry for your loss. I can’t imagine the difficult journey the Emerson family is going through.

    Setting up a fundraising page for your friend is such a supportive gesture. It makes me feel hopeful when I can help contribute to Rowan’s future education and to the family in general.

    Thank you.

    • mamacravings says:

      Thank you very, very much for your support and for your kind words. Setting up the fundraising has been one of those things where I know it won’t change the situation, but perhaps it will help to take one thing off of Will and Rowan’s minds. Thank you again.

  12. KPadgett says:

    I am so sorry for your loss.

  13. Rich Devlin says:

    What a beautiful tribute to a dear and precious friend and her baby. Thank you for sharing your heartfelt feelings.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7,153 other followers

Mamacravings Categories

Mamacravings Archives

