A Journey to Adoption: Hope with Eli

4

October 12, 2015 by mamacravings

We were in a store, and I was in a hurry. I dashed about the store with the constant reminder, “Quick feet! We’re late.”

But he had stopped. A display caught his eye. I called to him, but he didn’t come. I called again.

He responded, “Don’t huwrry yet, my Mama. I’sth twrying to memowrizthe to muh bwrain.”

I went to take his hand and continue our task. I expected toys on the display or perhaps sweets. What I saw brought my hurry to a quick stop. It was a tiny pair of shoes.

“Muh baby will need these. They will fit justht wright. I justht don’t want to fowrget.”

He touched the shoes gingerly and declared that he was ready to hurry again. But I wasn’t quite ready yet. I was memorizing the shoes too.

Want to know more about our adoption journey or want to support/share our story? Click here. As always, thank you for walking with us through adoption!

Big Brother in Waiting

Big Brother in Waiting

4 thoughts on “A Journey to Adoption: Hope with Eli

  1. Such a cute photo!!! Thanks for stopping by my blog by the way! We are adopting from Ethiopia (and doing IVF) and I just wanted to ask if you’d picked an adoption agency yet? I saw a post of yours that says it’s going to cost $30K and since ours is (“only”) $18K including travel costs, I thought I’d see since I wasn’t sure from reading it how far along you were in the process. We are going through Adoption Avenues and really really love them 🙂 Best of luck!!! PS – you know about the adoption tax credit, right? I believe it’s around $13K which is a tax credit once the adoption is finalized!

    • mamacravings says:

      Thank you! 18K is a LOT less! We’re going through the AIC. They’re a really old agency that has a lot of resources for the birth family. I read an amazing book about adopting through Ethiopia..ACK! I can’t remember the name (Ashes to Africa?). Anyway, thank you! Best of luck to you as well! I can’t wait to follow your journey. I did know about the tax credit, but I didn’t know it was that much. Thank you for sharing!

  2. boomiebol says:

    Oh my he has grown so much. All the best with the adoption process😘

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7,056 other followers

Mamacravings Categories

Mamacravings Archives

