A Letter to Her who is Still Waiting

14

November 16, 2015 by mamacravings

Hey, Mama.

It’s okay to be sad. Whether you have been trying for your baby for months or for years, it’s okay to mourn the process. It’s a grueling and weary journey with every month of disappointment is your heart breaking all over again.

It’s okay to be angry at the unfairness of the whole thing. Fertility pays little mind to who wants children and who does not. It all seems so backwards. Perhaps because it is.

It’s okay to want a child with your entire being. Whether this will be your first child or your house is already full, don’t let someone tell you just be grateful for what you already have. There is no guilt in having a heart’s desire of a baby. You can be grateful and be unfulfilled in the same moment.

If no one tells you this today, Mama, please allow me to be so bold as to say: It’s okay to not be okay.

There are few journeys in this world as uncertain as waiting for a child. While wanting a child is a terribly lonely road, you are not alone. I am walking with you.

A Journey Through Infertility Image 2

Today I am sad. I am angry. I am unfulfilled. I am waiting. And it’s okay that I am.

14 thoughts on “A Letter to Her who is Still Waiting

  1. I think about this often. I know a lot of people in the midst of this struggle, and I know a lot of people who after years of waiting have overcome this struggle. I am in awe of people who struggle with infertility. The strength, and the love. I pray often that women won’t feel this pain. I look forward to reading more as I follow your blog! You are inspiring!

    madidoesmotherhood.wordpress.com

    • mamacravings says:

      Thank you very much. I appreciate your kind words. 🙂

      I think and pray for the families going through infertility as well. So many suffer quietly. It’s such a difficult topic.

  2. ttc7439 says:

    Thank you. If you see my post you know that I really needed this. I’m with you on today’s feelings. 😦 wish there was something I could do to help you! But I want you to know that this does help me.

  3. I am right there with you. We just found out that were most likely ping to have our 3rd miscarriage with our 3rd round of IVF. Thank you for your post.

  4. The fact that these are the only words that those of us who are trying and trying again (…and again again and again) want to hear and that they are for the most part the last words spoken if at all by those who are trying to comfort us makes this all the more moving and meaningful. Thank you, truly for this.

  5. Mark says:

    Word, Casi Layne.

    Good word.

  6. So beautiful. And thanks so much for writing this. Alot of us that seem be silently and secretly grieving really need to hear this:’)

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6,494 other followers

Mamacravings Categories

Mamacravings Archives

