Little Eli’s Letter to Santa Shows the Meaning of Christmas

12

December 7, 2015 by mamacravings

5 year-old Eli sat down to write his letter to Santa. It took him nearly 2 hours. He painstakingly sounded out each sound to every word. He wrote, erased and re-wrote every single stroke of his pencil. When he was finally done, he asked me to read over it and check it. As I read over it, my heart swelled. The meaning of Christmas was found in my little boy’s letter to Santa.

IMG_3991

Below is a “translation” of little Eli’s first letter he has ever written to Santa.

“Dear Santa, 

I’m Elijah. I am five. I am strong and funny. I am good because I listen. I am good when I play with friends.

For Christmas I want Lego Batman 2, Minecraft and Legos. Can we adopt a baby? Mommy wants a baby most of all.

Love, Elijah” 

I absolutely adore his description of himself as “strong and funny” and of being good because he listens.

While those things do make my child good, it is his thoughtfulness and his awareness of others that takes my breath away. In his letter, he asked for toys. Then he asked for our baby. He thought of others. He not only mentioned the desires of his heart but the desire of my heart as well.

Sweet little Eli, if I have any say in it, you are on the nice list. You certainly are strong and funny. You are good because you listen. You are also good because you give the desires of others a voice. I am one very proud mama.

 

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Little Eli’s Letter to Santa Shows the Meaning of Christmas

  1. pinksnow78 says:

    That’s so lovely! X x

  2. Sarah Bell says:

    ❤ ❤ ❤ He is so precious. Love you guys!

  3. boomiebol says:

    God bless his good heart❤️

  4. Kate Tairi says:

    What a gorgeous little boy you have! And his writing is impressive! ❤

    • mamacravings says:

      Thank you so much! He has the best kinder teacher. He wasn’t even writing a full sentence when he started this school year. She has really inspired him to fall in love with writing.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7,056 other followers

Mamacravings Categories

Mamacravings Archives

