Meaning in the Mundane

12

September 6, 2016 by mamacravings

Every now and then, I share an entry from my personal journal. I wrote this particular one while knee deep in a new favorite devotional of mine: Because Crack is Illegal. It’s about motherhood and Jesus, and it speaks to me exactly where I am in my life:

Packing lunches. Sorting socks. Wiping noses. These are a few of my least favorite things. But they are significant.

Too often I find myself grumbling at the end of every day and the mundane. I growl at the dishes in the sink and roll my eyes at the Spider-Man undies on the floor.

By the end of the day, I’m tired. By the time Eli has drifted off to sleep to my yawny rendition of Harry Potter, I pull out the rest of my to-do list.

Even though these tasks aren’t glamorous or grand, they carry significance. Every task is an “I love you.” Every lunch packed, pair of socks put away and nose wiped is an anthem of “I will take care you.” and “You are safe here.”

While the to-dos may be mundane, I can’t mistake them for meaningless. They are the daily affirmations that are building my family.

This season too will pass and all too quickly. Until then, I will practice gratitude in my role as a mama to the young, as well as humility in the honor of parenting him.

img_8551

12 thoughts on “Meaning in the Mundane

  1. harbsblog says:

    I just thought of something, the tone of this post is similar to my Keepin’ busy post. Check it out!
    https://harbsblog.wordpress.com/2016/03/18/keepin-busy/

  2. thestepmomma says:

    this is so good. such a great reminder. I need this, as a step mom, where it isn’t natural for kids to have an extra parent to love- it’s a reminder that my acts are still filled with love and motivated by the same. thank you.

  3. Andrea says:

    This was beautiful! I am going to look into the book you mentioned! If you ever need another book recommendation, might I suggest “When the Heart Waits” by Sue Monk Kidd? It was so insightful!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7,178 other followers

Mamacravings Categories

Mamacravings Archives

